Michiko & Hatchin is my second installment of First Impressions. Like my first impression of Brynhildr In The Darkness I’m providing my general thoughts and I want to share with you all a little bit of what goes through my head. I’m covering the first three episodes of Michiko & Hatchin and I hope my notes provide some insight. Also, if you’ve seen the anime I’m covering feel free to comment on what I should expect and how do you feel about the anime.

• Michiko & Hatchin displayed their first scene of episode one with confidence. Michiko’s escape from prison was full of action movie shenanigans and with a little bit of luck Michiko Malandro was on the loose.


Inescapable prison you say? Well, guess who just escaped. I’d give the security a thumb down.

• The security was honestly pathetic and Michiko barely struggled, but sure enough she had other failed attempts. So, remember perseverance always pays off in the end.

• Michiko’s character comes off as persistent, rude, and there’s no doubt about it… She’s a harden criminal that will do anything to achieve her goals.

• She escaped prison to find Hiroshi Morenos’ daughter and to see for herself if Hiroshi is dead. Sure enough she believes Hiroshi is still alive.

• I’m Puerto Rican so instantly my Spanish senses were tingling. The last names of both Hana and Michiko are clever and allow me to break down what I observed.

• For example, I noticed that if you take out the “s” from Hana’s last name you get the Spanish word “Moreno” which means dark skinned person.

• It’s no coincidence that a dark skinned and very sexy woman named Michiko Malandro came and saved Hana Morenos.

• If you take out “ndro” from Malandro you are left with “Mala” which is the feminization of the word bad in Spanish.

• For now… I perceive Michiko as a bad person and she must have committed serious crimes.

• But, c’mon I know there’s always redemption in these kinds of freedom stories. Michiko has her own personal cross to bear and Hana is her responsibility.

• I’m looking forward to Michiko’s redemption and I wonder if Hana will come of age.

• Hiroshi is the thread that connects Michiko to Hana.

• The stakes so far have been relatively simple and escaping from the cops seems like the tip of the iceberg. When does that crime syndicate come into play? Will those tattoos start becoming a real factor?

• Unfortunately the action sequences have been clumsy. Michiko rode her motorcycle up a staircase is a perfect example of what I’m talking about. Then the cops tried to do the same only to be thwarted by Michiko.

• Atsuko’s credibility as an anti-hero goes out the window by the end of episode two. She looked like a fool. But, I guess I won’t jump to any conclusions. Atsuko does know Michiko from her childhood and comes across as a wildcard.

• I expect Michiko & Hatchin to dive deep into culture. I see some cultural ties to South America and if you want to be specific, I’d say Brazilian culture will be strongly infused into the anime.

• Let me return to Hana and episode one.

• She narrated a typical day in her life and it’s clear she’s being tormented by her foster family. In that abusive environment everyone treats her like trash and they hate her. They make her do all the housework and she clearly is suffering.

• Her foster father is just trying to collect the child support and the entire household could care less about her wellbeing.

• Father Pedro Belenbauza pretty much is a corrupt priest and uses the church to obtain wealth and status. He parades around the fact that he’s given Hana a home. He has “saved” her life.

• Father Pedro prevents Hana from telling the inspector about any abuse by bribing her and reminding her that the streets only bring about despair and cruelty.

• According to Father Pedro girls Hana’s age are either forced into prostitution or die.

• Hana’s foster siblings are evil. They beat up Hana and they are spoiled brats.

• The foster mother is an arrogant prick who set up Hana for a brutal punishment.

• When she told Hana to throw out the family cat it was like giving her enough rope to hang herself with.

• There were some extreme cases of abuse and I found myself suggesting… we needed two more episodes of “abusive household drama” and then have Michiko save Hana at episode three.

• The foster family dynamic could have taken a psychological approach and even go into neglect.

• I know we have to get things moving along, but so far nothing really has gotten my attention in Michiko & Hatchin other than the abusive family. I wanted to really feel Hana’s breaking point.

• It was told to the audience that this kind of abuse was everyday life and when Hana lashed out on her foster sister, it was a result of years of abuse.


This could have been the ending to episode one.

• I feel sympathy for Hana because she certainly suffered abuse. Her foster family can burn in hell for all I care and I was glad she fought back.

• I wanted to learn more about the household and at least have Michiko search around for Hana while dodging the police.

• Instead by the end of episode one Michiko busts inside the house during breakfast and rescues Hana.

• At least she announced over the phone that she was coming right? She gave the priest time to load up his shotgun. But, it was hilariously bad execution during this entire scene since the priest could not aim at all.

• Much to my chagrin Michiko was pretty much in point blank range. The priest has to be the worst shot in the world since he missed three or four times with a shotgun.

• In episode two the priest with a pistol further displayed why he should never be allowed to bear arms by missing at least six more times.

• It’s worth mentioning that when Hana pictured someone saving her. It was a man with the same tattoo, but it was on his right shoulder. (Perhaps a glimpse at Hiroshi?)

• Episode two introduces us to Atsuko and we figure out Hiroshi died eleven years ago. Keep in mind Hana is nine years old going on ten.

• Michiko gives Hana her nickname. Hana is now “Hatchin” starting from episode two.

• I’ll add that episode two is basically a direct continuation of what happened after Hatchin is taken by Michiko.

• For the most part Michiko claimed to be Hana’s mother. But, when she was talking to Hana in episode two, she asked where Hana got her chin from. Michiko does not show any affection toward Hana. She does not come across as a mother who has reunited with her daughter. It’s more like she’s babysitting Hiroshi’s daughter out of some misguided love and obligation.

• Whoever Hiroshi is I can say one thing… He certainly has some charm that compels Michiko to take care of his kid. He’s probably still alive messing around with some other chick.

• For some reason I found that scene where Atsuko lifts up the foster daughter’s skirt creepy and I guess she was looking for the tattoo…

• But, seriously are you going to tell me that both Michiko and Atsuko thought that four-eyed black-haired brat was Hana? They clearly saw from the baby picture that Hana has blonde hair which makes it so obvious.

• For both of them to get it wrong initially doesn’t add up. I’ll let Michiko slide since she does not always think her actions through. But, Atsuko? I don’t know… she seems pretty shady and dirty.

• Episode three really was a huge improvement.


Yes, I work here now and he’s my boss. Why? Because I have to pay for my Jordans!

• The owner of this Chinese Restaurant was a unique character. Dine & Dashers beware the penalty for not paying for a meal is death!

• Always work hard for the things you want! Don’t steal them.

• Michiko stole the Jordans for Hatchin. Hatchin was forced to accept them because her other shoes got stolen.

• Hatchin decided to get a job and pay for them. Hatchin was mature.

• Hatchin accepted the conditions and her employment is very respectable.


You thought I was joking? Hatchin is rocking these Jordans. Don’t hate because she’s fresher than you.

• Hatchin has integrity and determination. She cuts her hair in this episode and the new look symbolizes a new life for Hatchin. She already proved that she’ll be more than willing to pull her own weight and not let her past define her future.


The face you make when your boss gives you more work.

• The fortuneteller/gypsy woman element in this episode was perfectly executed too. The fortuneteller was creepy and ugly, but at the end of the day she made money by suckering Michiko.

• But, then again you’ll see in the episode that the fortuneteller wasn’t crazy after all and it sure did look like Hatchin was going to die.

• Hatchin acquired a special stone from the fortuneteller that was said to ward off all evil. When Hatchin was confronted by a gunman; she tossed the rock at him.

• The rock made the gunman drop his gun and Hatchin bought herself enough time for Michiko to save her life.

• Following the altercation Michiko and Hatchin find themselves knocking on Hiroshi’s door. Or at least that’s what Michiko thought based on sketch identification that lead the two travelers to this place.

• The whole role reversal was pretty clever. At first it was Hatchin who immediately dismissed the fortuneteller’s prediction of the future.

• Michiko was gullible enough to believe and pay for the fortunetelling services.

• By the end of the episode, Hatchin had a change of heart. She actually believed the fortuneteller was correct since she almost experienced the entire fortune except dying.

• On the other hand, Michiko was pissed off and in disbelief. She was upset that the married man at the door was not Hiroshi. Michiko thought she’d been lied to by the fortuneteller.

Overall Michiko & Hatchin has room for improvement. It can feel like a clumsy action movie if you only watch the first two episodes. But, episode three provides a glimpse at what kind of person Hatchin wants to be. She will oppose Michiko.

I’m sure there are deeper emotional moments to come and more lessons to be learned, but the search for Hiroshi keeps the anime moving. I’m thinking in these three episodes Michiko and Hatchin both escaped their respective prisons. But, eventually they should feel the need to hunker down and find stability to complement their freedom. If searching for Hiroshi continues to lead to nowhere then what’s the point of being free? I wonder… who’ll get fed up first.

I do have concerns about pacing since the first two episodes didn’t give the audience any chance to really digest anything. It introduced an interesting abusive household, but immediately rushed to the next stage and left me wanting more. Michiko & Hatchin are together and episode three really was good, despite stumbling out of the gate.

On another note the opening and ending music is enjoyable. Feel free to watch and listen as this has been my First Impression of Michiko & Hatchin. Take care and I’ll be back with more.

